North Carolina Teen Drivers will face a new, and stiffer, law when it comes to how law enforcement officials deal with speeding.

Effective January 1st, 2012 drivers under the age of 18 (and all with provisional drivers licenses) who are caught speeding in excess of 15 miles per hour over the speed limit and/or driving in excess of 80 miles per hour can be arrested and taken to court.  At that point in time, a judge will decide whether the NC Teen Driver will have his/her license revokes for 30 days.

As any parent of a current Teen Driver will surely attest, adding a Teen (or new driver) to a North Carolina Auto Insurance Policy is anything but cheap.  As a general rule of thumb, parents of newly licensed drivers can expect a premium increase of anywhere between 1.5 to 3 times their current annual insurance premium.  If that newly licensed driver were to get a ticket…your insurance premium will SKYROCKET even further.